PDF Print E-mail

History and Tradition

The Nationalökonomische Gesellschaft (NOeG), that is the Austrian Economic Association, proudly looks back in history, as two prominent economists were among the founders on March 29, 1918. These outstanding persons were Joseph Alois Schumpeter (1883-1950) and Ludwig von Mises.

The Austrian Economic Association tries to achieve its aims in the spirit of Schumpeter. He was a jurist, theorist, practitioner (bank president) and politician. Schumpeter held positions at the universities of Vienna, Czernowitz, Graz and Bonn, and he even researced and taught at Columbia University and Harvard University. In public politics, he was a member of the nationalisation committee in 1918, before becoming federal minister of public finances in 1919, but he only held that office for seven months. Like von Mises and few others, he most strongly contributed to the fame of the Austrian School of economics. His books are well-known even today: "Das Wesen und der Hauptinhalt der theoretischen Nationalökonomie", "Theorie der wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung", "Die Krise des Steuerstaates", "Business Cyles", "Capitalism, Socialism and Democracy", "Imperialism and Social Classes", "History of Economic Analysis" and "Das Wesen des Geldes".

Due to Schumpeter's type of research, the Austrian Economic Association strives for enhancing applied economics and theoretical economic policy, particularly in putting emphasis on the institutional aspects of the economy. This character of the Austrian Economic Association's work is reflected by its journal "Empirica - Journal of European Economics" (see the respective subpage to this homepage).

In 1978, the Austrian Economic Association resumed its tradition to hold an annual conference. By turns, the annual meeting is presently organised in Vienna and at some university in the other federal provinces (see the subpages on the past and next annual conference).

Klausinger, Hansjörg (2016). "The Nationalökonomische Gesellschaft (Austrian Economic Association) in the Interwar Period and beyond". In: Research in the History of Economic Thought and Methodology 34A, p. 9–43. doi:10.1108/S0743-41542016000034A002

Significant Austrian Economists

Kurt W. Rothschild - www.kurt-rothschild.at
Josef Steindl - www.josef-steindl.at

Presidents of the NOeG

Established on June 19, 1918

1918:Joseph Schumpeter (President, Vorsitzender)
Further board members: Hans Mayer (stellvertretender Vorsitzender), Karl Pribram (Schriftführer), Ludwig von Mises (Schatzmeister), Alfred Amonn, Moriz Dub (Redakteur der NFP), Viktor Grätz (Mitglied des Vorstands der DDSG) and Othmar Spann.
1919 to 1927 the NOeG was not active.
1927-1955:     Hans Mayer
1956-1972:Alexander Mahr
1972-1985:Wilhelm Weber
1985-1994:Erich Streissler
1994-1996:Helmut Frisch
1999-2002:Gerhard Clemenz
2003/04:Engelbert Dockner
2005/06:Hannelore Weck-Hannemann
2007/08:Reinhard Neck
2009/10:Fritz Breuss
2011/12:Johann K. Brunner
2013/14:Manfred Nermuth
2015/16:Peter Mooslechner
2017/18:Ingrid Kubin


Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_VARIABLE in /home/.sites/280/site1522/web/libraries/domit/xml_domit_lite_parser.php on line 1